20
Nov
09

My Chess Set

Here is a chess set I made.  I found the table on the side of the road and had some paint left over. I thought I would do something a little different instead of doing a traditional, boring, black and white checkered board. I originally sanded it, did the artwork, and sealed it, including the chess pieces, with polyurethane coating. It’s shiny if seen in person. The Board has pictures in each square and vocabulary words that have to do with “competition, strategy, and warning signs”.  Some words are in Spanish to throw people off a little. I did this because I thought about giving this to Stetson University if they thought the students would play on it, like in the Student Union building. The chess pieces ( I had no materials) I made from stacks of broken tiling and  after painting each level I topped them off with a drawing on each piece, The king, Queen, Bishops, etc. The King is 4 stacks high, the Queen 3, the rest 2, with all the Pawns 1 stack high. You can click on each picture to enlarge.

0 Responses to “My Chess Set”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

